The Physiotherapy Board's vision is Fostering Excellence in Physiotherapy.

The Physiotherapy Board (the Board) is the regulatory authority for Physiotherapists, established under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003 (HPCA Act).  The principal purpose of the Act is to protect the health and safety of members of the public by providing for mechanisms to ensure that health practitioners are competent and fit to practise their professions.


Implementation of Bi-National Australian and Aotearoa New Zealand Physiotherapy Practice Thresholds (BNPT)
The new binational physiotherapy practice thresholds will be implemented on May 31st 2016, which will update the competencies required for registration as a physiotherapist in New Zealand and Australia. The Physiotherapy Board will release more information on the changes to the BNPT in April 2016, but in the meantime please refer to ‘Physiotherapy practice thresholds in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand’ for more information.