Home > Accreditation


As the responsible authority for the physiotherapy profession in New Zealand, the Board accredits educational institutions that issue qualifications for entry to practise prescribed by the Board.

The Board’s Accreditation Standard was ratified in 2017 and updated in 2019. This standard covers the accreditation of the incumbent educational institutions:

  • University of Otago
  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Waikato Institute of Technology (2019)
  • University of Auckland (2022)

and their respective degrees.

A full accreditation including a site visit is required every five years, the next is due in 2023.There are also annual reporting requirements between accreditation years. A new educational institution, a new physiotherapy programme or a major curriculum change all also require Board accreditation.