The Board & Committees

Each member of the Board is appointed by the Minister of Health by notice published in the Gazette. 

Each member is appointed for a term of 3 years or such shorter term as is specified in the notice of appointment, and may be reappointed from time to time.  Under Section 120 of the HPCA Act 2003, the Board currently consists of seven members including two lay members.

The role of the Board is to set the strategic direction of the organisation, monitor management performance and ensure the Board meets the requirements of the HPCA Act 2003.

The Board has two Standing Committees:  Risk and Audit Committee; and Health Committee.


Janice Mueller, (Chairperson), registered physiotherapist, from Auckland.
Maarama Davis, (Deputy Chairperson), registered physiotherapist, from Wellington.
Sandra Ferdinand, registered physiotherapist, from Christchurch.
David Baxter, registered physiotherapist, from Dunedin.
Cameron McIver, lay member, from Wellington.
John Sandston, lay member, from Nelson.
Scott Thomson, registered physiotherapist, from Christchurch.